Greenie
Feb 8, 2013
GA and CO
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800
Minelab Gold Monster 1000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
How good is the GPX5000 for relic hunting? coins/jewelry at sea shore? Is it too complex for targets that maybe the Garrett AT Pro would be great at? Would I still need a deep PI detector? Yeah, I know the 5000 is a PI detector, but ...

I have a chance to get a used GPX5000 at a great price, so I wonder ... since I am a novice for sure! What coils would I need to cover the more typical hunting grounds and targets?

Thanks, Billy

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You don't want to use a GPX 5000 at the beach. Det a Whites Dual Field or a Tesoro Sand Shark if you want to use a PI at the beach. The GPX 5000 is too heavy and too sensitive - not to mention to expensive to risk near the saltwater.

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have heard of people using it for both beach and relics and doing very well with it, although I agree with Terry that I wouldn't want to risk a $5000 detector in even ankle deep water.

Mach1Pilot

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2008
Bedford County, PA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab, Fisher, Teknetics and more!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The GPX 5000 is one awesome relic hunting machine! It's my favorite in a lot of areas, but it has its limitations. Like Jason said, it can be used on the beach quite successfully but I'm really not sure I would want mine near salt water. It can be susceptible to EMI, and if there is a heavy iron patch you would possibly be better served with a VLF discriminating machine unless you have a LOT of paitence.