Dovregubben

Greenie
Nov 2, 2017
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75 SE, Garret "Carrot"
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi! :hello:
After lurking around this forum for some time, I finally decided to get registered to this wonderful community. I'm a 21 yo norwegian student living approximately a 1 hour drive from the main capital Oslo. My username "Dovregubben", or "The mountain King" refers to a poem called "Peer Gynt" written by the legendary norwegian writer Henrik Ibsen, all though it's probably internationally most associated with the musical pieces "The hall of the mountain king" and "Morning mood" by composer Edvard Grieg.

I bought my first detector 14yo, but didn't get hooked before I found my first silvercoin, a 1686 norwegian "2 skilling" this summer. This wonderful find led me to further investment in a Fisher F75 and a Garret "carrot" pin-pointer which have yielded further great results through many hours of swinging in the fields. I'm mainly detecting for coins, but love discovering other historical objects as well. People have lived in scandinavia since the stone age, making this small country the perfect place for discovering lost history through beeps and TIDs.

I'm looking forward to be a part of this awesome fellowship of treasure seekers to exchange knowledge and make new acquaintances.
Much love,
Dovregubben.

Mudflap

Bronze Member
Mar 31, 2012
Wallingford, Connecticut 1667
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT, Dual Field, CZ-21, Vaquero, Home Brewed (3).
Detecting since 1972.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Dovregubben. Welcome from Connecticut. My son in law did archeological work up north of you in Spitsbergen. I would like to detect the old coal mine areas there although would have to watch out for the Polar bears!!! <grin>

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif
Welcome Aboard Dovregubben!

OP
OP
Dovregubben

Dovregubben

Greenie
Nov 2, 2017
Detector(s) used