Learned a lesson today

Blackfoot58

Silver Member
Jan 11, 2023
Iowa
Detector(s) used
Makro Simplex+
Walked to Coinstar unit and saw a few coins. I’m new at this. Have only found one coin til today: a ‘52 Roosevelt dime. So I had visions of grandeur for a moment. I thought The reject hole word have: foreign coins, damaged coins or old coins where the weight was different. Well, I got the following 4 coins today:
2021 Roosevelt dime
1999 Jefferson nickel
2021 Lincoln cent
1988 Lincoln cent (a lot of green patina)
None were damaged at all. Possibly the 1988 cent was off-weight due to the green scale. Otherwise, why would, newer US coins, in great shape, get rejected? Just wondering about coinstar. No complaints though. It’s better than getting skunked. 🦨 👃

HistoryTeacher

Mar 9, 2017
North Georgia
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Walked to Coinstar unit and saw a few coins. I’m new at this. Have only found one coin til today: a ‘52 Roosevelt dime. So I had visions of grandeur for a moment. I thought The reject hole word have: foreign coins, damaged coins or old coins where the weight was different. Well, I got the following 4 coins today:
2021 Roosevelt dime
1999 Jefferson nickel
2021 Lincoln cent
1988 Lincoln cent (a lot of green patina)
None were damaged at all. Possibly the 1988 cent was off-weight due to the green scale. Otherwise, why would, newer US coins, in great shape, get rejected? Just wondering about coinstar. No complaints though. It’s better than getting skunked. 🦨 👃
I used to run a pennies-for-patients fundraiser and ran a lot of coins through the machines.