my excal mod for scuba

River Hound

Dec 17, 2011
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I dive in a river with a good current.Even with the short shaft it wasn't comfortable. Putting the controls and battery on my bc is nice.My hands are pretty much on the coil.I have to use a boat anchor and rope to stay in place its pretty difficult.I am new with the excal I have a lot to figure out.My biggest issue is the tones I cant tell much of a difference.Anyway its very cool being at the bottom of the river detecting.I got the parts from a broken whites.Happy hunting all.:hello:

Attachments

• excal dive).JPG
    excal dive).JPG
    186.4 KB · Views: 116
  • excalmod.JPG
    excalmod.JPG
    176.7 KB · Views: 113
Last edited:
Upvote 0

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro and Whites Surfmaster PI, Minelab Excal NY blue sword. 2 White's Dual field pi, Garrett sea hunter pi II (but don't use it for obvious reasons) 5' x 3 1/2' coil underwater Pi
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Use the bottom dial and put it on disc. You will null on iron. The sounds can be all over the place, you have to dig all non ferrous sounds. Try to keep the coil away from you out in front, the body of the metal detector thr tank regulator any metal will both set it off and lower the senotivity. Use as high a disc as possible, also same with sens.

Mainelypulltab

Aug 26, 2011
New England
Detector(s) used
Excal II
River Hound, I have not been doing this as long as most on the forum and really just started to get into diving last year. The setup looks like you put some thought into it, do you have an elbow cup or something to rest your elbow in? Just wondering. Stevemc has been at this a whole lot longer than me and has offered some great advice. Never give up, just keep learning the machine, the tones are what I like about my Excal II. Look forward to hearing how this system works out for you. Best of luck.

OP
OP
R

River Hound

Dec 17, 2011