New here, from Alaska

future

Apr 9, 2016
Boise, Idaho
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT All Pro, Whites 6000 DI Pro, Whites GMT, Whites Surf PI Dual Field......want a Minelab e-trac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello everyone, I'm Mike (goldpaninut) from Alaska. The wife & I recently moved to the Boise area after 45 years living the good life in Valdez, Alaska. I retired 2 years ago from running my own fishing charter business, and my wife ran a bed & breakfast. With these businesses and raising two kids, we were kept busy for a long time. It sure is different country down here! Hot! I've been using metal detectors since 1970, when my Dad & I went together and bought an old Whites Goldmaster. It wasn't too good of a machine, and it wasn't until 1982 that Whites came out with the 4000D machine that I started finding what Alaska is famous for......gold nuggets. And I found a lot of them.

Being new to the Boise area I really don't know where to go with my detector. I usually have to hunt in the shade, as working in the sun is more than I can take. I like finding coins now, but not just new ones. I love to find mercury dimes and am looking forward to the day when I can locate a silver quarter. I currently use a Whites MXT all pro and an older Whites 6000 DI Pro but very soon I would like to update to a Minelab e-trac. I would very much like to meet some people to go detecting with, as just swinging by myself is lonely and so far I've only found new change and a few rings around here. I'm a very careful detectorist and ALWAYS BUT ALWAYS leave a recovery site indistinguishable from before I arrived, and dispose of all trash I dig. Everyone who asks me for help always gets my full cooperation in trying to locate things they've lost, and I've recovered a few items already. I'm looking forward to learning more about the area and finding some detecting buddies.