Henry hill

Tenderfoot
Mar 19, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Newbie here. Have used a m/d screwing around when I was younger. Almost 50 now and would like to get into the hobby. We have a cottage in the tip of the thumb here in Michigan with mile of beach to hunt. Have been doing a lot of reading and watching videos. The 2 M/D I'm trying to decide on are

Mind lab Excalibur
Or
Mind lab Safari Deluxe
Will be doing a lot of dry and wet beach hunting and also some fields schools and so on.
My buddy swears by the Excalibur and said you need to go way out in the lake to find the good rings. I do like it but I have a big fat German head and I've heard a lot of complaints about the headphones. I really don't care for the headphone and I'm leaning toward the Safari with all the extras. What is your opinion? Thanks in advance for any help and Imput!! Chris.

SD51

Silver Member
Aug 24, 2016
MI
Detector(s) used
E-TRAC
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to TNet. The Excalibur is pretty much a water detector. I would lean towards the Safari. I expect you'll be doing more land searching than water searching.

OP
OP
H

Henry hill

Tenderfoot
Mar 19, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to TNet. The Excalibur is pretty much a water detector. I would lean towards the Safari. I expect you'll be doing more land searching than water searching.

Is the coil on the Safari able to go into the drink? If so, how deep? I would think you could at least go in just below the controller?

ChampFerguson/TN

Bronze Member
Nov 22, 2013
TN
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari .......... Minelab Excalibur II ....... ........Minelab CTX 3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Yes, the Safari coil is dunkable. I hunted mine in ankle deep Atlantic waters until I ALMOST dropped the control box into the drink. I think I literally lost my heartbeat for a instant. If you hunt it in/at the water long enough, you will have an accident.