chwhale

Tenderfoot
Oct 20, 2017
Kansas
Detector(s) used
Minelab safari. Garrett pro-pointer AT
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Newbie here. I've looked all over the net trying to figure this out. I have found old items in my front yard while metal detecting. This one is strange.

The detector swears it is silver. I did the ice-cube test on it and it melted quick. It is non magnetic. Without doing an acid test, I'm fairly certain that it is silver. The question now is, what is it?

It weighs about 1/2 an ounce. I've attached some photos. It was about 8 inches down. I live in Kansas. Any help is appreciated. Thank you!

IMG_8405.JPG IMG_8406.JPG IMG_8407.JPG IMG_8408.JPG IMG_8409.JPG

Attachments

• IMG_8405.JPG
    IMG_8405.JPG
    707 KB · Views: 69
Last edited:

bradyboy

Silver Member
Apr 15, 2007
Clearwater, FL
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
looks like lead
Or, if its in fact true silver, maybe a rough cast form for a heavy silver ring that was meant to be finished off but lost
The flat edge took me in this direction
IMO
BRady

Upvote 0

Icewing

Silver Member
Jan 5, 2016
NW Arkanslaw
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 900 / Garrett PropointerAT.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have no clue what it is, but your detector probably gives you the high silver like tone simply because it has a hole in it.
And the "ice test" is totally bogus IMO. Hold any piece of metal in your hand till it warms up and ice will melt fast.

Have you scratched it to see what color the base metal is?

Upvote 0

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting