Old flintlock found-predates Lewis and Clark!

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ5, White's GM VSat
What's interesting about this story to me is this area is one of my haunts- ;)

http://www.losttreasure.com/latestissue/featuredstory.cfm

Treasure News
By Anthony M. Belli
Oregon Treasure Hunter Recovers Pistol That Pre-Dates Lewis & Clark

SWEET HOME, Ore.--What started out as a prospecting trip along the banks of Quartzville Creek for one Oregon man quickly developed in to a treasure hunt. Clint McCraven, 43, of Sweet Home, Oregon, a welder by trade, had slipped out of the house early that morning leaving his sleeping wife behind. He headed off for “the woods” armed with his White’s Electronic Gold Master III to enjoy some well earned time off by prospecting for nugget gold. What he found wasn’t gold but an ancient flintlock pistol and in reasonably good condition.

“I picked up the pistol in three pieces all within a 50 to 60 yard area,” said McCraven. His detector had been sounding off pretty frequently but all he’d found up to that point was garbage.

Then his White’s Gold Master reported again and McCraven dug up a trigger guard, another 20 feet beyond he dug up the pistol’s action. Realizing the firearm was a flintlock, McCraven was stunned, then thought perhaps he’d unearthed a kid’s toy replica. He continued the search and another 30 yards further McCraven discovered the barrel and the wood pistol grip nearly intact and in surprisingly good condition.

“The barrel and wood stock were found in a wet clay material along the banks of the creek, which is probably what protected it from further deterioration,” McCraven said.

McCraven explained that the wood stock is very fragile and missing the butt plate. He added that it appears the pistol had been in a fire at one time.