Where to park at night for beaches?

billinstuart

Oct 17, 2004
stuart..the treasure coast..well, used to be
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excalibur with a WOT!
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Good question. Our county officials seem to think they have to close beaches at night for some reason. Actually, all they can close is the parking. Be careful..some do-gooder will try to arrest you for interfering with turtles or something.

miamidave

Aug 23, 2008
hollywood
Detector(s) used
recon pro
Im brand new to detecting and dont know what or where a 1715 wreck is(my first detector should be here friday )
I do a lot of fishing at night though and usually have to park on the street in a residential neighberhood, bar or good old wallmart and then hoof it in.
I ran into a bit of trouble on the beach in pompano(thugs) dont know if its a good idea to be in the dark with headphones on.

wreckdiver1715

Bronze Member
May 20, 2004
Satellite Beach
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal 1000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The county commissioners in Indian River County seem to have some control issues, and feel they must close off all parking at night, most likely to protect you from yourself. Just to the north, in Brevard County, most all public beach parking is always open with the exception of the Patrick AFB Beaches.

OP
OP
Nugget Hog

Nugget Hog

Jun 25, 2006
Lakeland, Florida
Will they lock your car in one of the parks like turtle trail, etc? The gates were still open when it was dark but didn't want to risk it.

Years ago there used to be a few places that everyone would park next to the road near the dunes but I think houses are built there now. I did find one place N. or Turtle trail on the right next to a house with a cement fence going all the way around it. The trail to the beach went right next to the fence. There were other cars parked there but I didn't want to get towed.