Ace 250 experts help!

SeattleHistoryNut

Dec 11, 2011
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I got an Ace 250 for X-Mas and have spent about 8 hours out hunting in two different places that I know for sure are early 20th century, one of which was an old Junior high school from 1932 that had been demolished. I realize i am new at this, and there is always a learning curve, but LITERALLY all I have dug besides iron junk are NAILS! I feel like I should have at least dug some clad coins by now?? I am operating my 250 on coin mode with the sensitivity not at full but with two bars not shaded. Any tips or pointers from you 250 users out there?? I want so bad to pull out my first silver! SOO BAD!
-SHN

spartacus53

Banned
Jul 5, 2009
Whiting, NJ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
switch to all metal mode... Then learn the machine, it will take a little time, but worth it in the long run..

Drop different coins on the floor and get to know their tones is a good starting point :thumbsup:

savant365

Silver Member
Mar 28, 2007
Northwest Missouri
Detector(s) used
ACE 250
That's still too high for your sensitivity, try it with just 4 bars shaded in. The more trash there is in the ground the lower you want to set it. You will still dig a lot of nails but you should start finding coins too (if there are any there). Good luck,

Charlie

TerryC

Gold Member
Jun 26, 2008
Yarnell, AZ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 (2), Ace 300, Gold Bug 2, Tesoro Cortes, Garrett Sea Hunter, Whites TDI SL SE, Fisher Impulse 8, Minelab Monster 1000, Minelab CTX3030, Falcon MD20, Garrett Pro-pointer, Calvin Bunker digger.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting