Atocha 8 Reales.

Sue.My.Chin

Greenie
Feb 29, 2012
Newcastle
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Hello, I'm Ben. I've been interested in all things old and nautical for a while now. Anything from Nelson to pre 10th century Viking traders. I love stories of old treasure fleets and recently decided to keep an eye out for any "treasures" I might like to own. As I've got no experience, it's always going to be a risk buying from anything other than a reputable dealer, so I though I should sign-up for some help in the event I see something interesting.

What could be more interesting than an Atocha 1622 silver cob ay? There was recently a coin, that if genuine, was going for a good price, especially considering the exchange rate at the moment (I live in UK). It came with the card denoting the coin number, reign, etc. but more importantly, no Certificate of Authenticity. Rightly so, I was warned off it by a couple of helpful members of this community.

Here is the link to the item that eventually sold for $£368- http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/390394290...AX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

The seller does seem like a reputable dealer (http://catalinacoin.com/) with lot's of positive feedback and a 7-day returns policy, so you could get a good look at it before deciding to whether keep it. I don't have that luxury being in the UK and it would have been a chore to get in touch with them.

I know the pictures aren't much to go by but the condition did look too good to be true for me considering the price these things can go for and looking through the same seller's older auctions, I noticed they have had similar coins with COA's.

At first I thought this might suggest the coin is real, until I looked closer at the label. The one with the COA has little "nodules" (I have no idea how else to describe them) from where the label has been torn away and the one without the COA did not. Also the print looks slightly different, mainly the font (most noticeable in the "2" and "P").