Blind cache hunting

horsepower

Greenie
Dec 17, 2009
Do successful cache hunters usually follow leads and ferret out a specific cache or are most caches found just stumbled across by probing likely areas? I'm new at this (actually don't even have a decent detector--I've got a radio shack cheapie I used to find my lost wedding ring once and also use it when one of the horses pulls a shoe in the mud around home) and just wondering about the best approach.

My particular situation is somewhat unique. I live in the area that was decimated by order #11 during the civil war. Actually, I'm within 5 miles of the location for the Battle of Lone Jack. I'm in a rural farming area with access to several thousand acres of private land (a lot of which may well have never been detected--being a neighbor garners easier access than a stranger) that should be chock full of relics and if I could locate the homesteads, probably also caches buried before the forced depopulation of the county. These folks had to leave and mostly left on foot. They had to carry what they could with them and I imagine a number of them buried valuables to be retrieved later. Many never returned. But all of the homes were burned so I am trying to hunt down an old map that might help me in locating these homesites for extreme northeastern Cass County. Any ideas or insights.

chipveres

Jul 9, 2007
Hollywood, Florida
Hoping the courthouse wasn't burned down, check old property tax records. Tax collector, recorder of deeds, town surveyor, etc. Even the barest tax record can tell you whether a house existed, or it was just land. And any record you can get is better than going in blind.

Chip V.

chirper97

Mar 28, 2005
south charleston, wv
Detector(s) used
White's V3i, White's DFX 300, Garrett Infinium PI, Fisher CZ6A, Garrett Deepseeker and Groundhog ADS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to Treasure Net, Horsepower!

Please continue posting to your thread.