Hunting the woods?

Mobes

Oct 4, 2007
Westmont IL
Detector(s) used
Whites Prism IV
So I have a few spots in the middle of the woods that I would love to hunt and see whats around these old foundations, the only problem I have is that I'm still new to this and Im not sure what the easiest way is to do it. Do you guys only hunt in the woods in the spring when all the weeds are not present or do you just fight your way through them? I have tried but I know that I am missing alot of stuff im sure and getting frustrated with not being able to sweep the ground proficiently. Also any other tips you guys can give that I may not be thinking of would be more than welcome and apprieciated. Thanks in advance to any help you guys can provide.

mlayers

Gold Member
Oct 29, 2007
Northern, OH
Detector(s) used
DFX, White PI, Bounty Hunter, Whites Surfmaster II and Excalibur II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It all depends on how much work you want to do. You can wait for spring and get in before the weeds gets to tall. Or you can take your lawnmower in with you or like have done a DR Trimmer. Gets the weeds down and even small trees......Matt

deepskyal

Bronze Member
Aug 17, 2007
Natrona Heights, Pa.
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster 6000 Di Series 3, Minelab Eq 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Try hunting in the all metal/nonmotion mode. That eliminates having to swing the detector much.
You don't usually get all the bottle caps and pulltabs as you would in the parks so your finds in all metal could be a bit more interesting, even if old iron.

I prefer early spring but hunt summer too if the weeds aren't thick. Fall hunting kinda stinks because of all the wet leaves packing on the ground which adds depth to your find.

If you use motion detecting, you can do the push/pull method as opposed to the side to side method. Works just as well as long as the coil is moving.