IM a newbie

digginVA

Sep 18, 2006
im new to this web site and have always been a rockhound. I live in Pittsylvania county (about 40 miles south of Lynchburg)does any1 know of or possibly heard of any mines or veins located in this area or close surroundings?
I searched through ask.com and found this website they had some info about a mine in eastern pittsylvania county but when i clicked on the link i couldnt find a thing :( Any help or info would be greatly appreciated.

THANKS

birds4us

Greenie
Aug 29, 2006
Only public mine that I know of in VA is in Amelia, it is the Morefield Mine. I have not been there yet, but plan on it soon.

buscadero

Bronze Member
Jul 16, 2006
Corpus Christi, Tx.
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Guys: This info's from 2004, so I hope it's still Ok!

The Morfield Gem Mine is in Amelia, Va. (804) 561-3399 Open: Tue.-Sat, 9am-4:30pm

$10 incl. Use of Tools: Buckets, Rakes, Screens, Sluice, & Shovels.

Say's bring standard Mining Equip., Lunch, & Plenty to Drink!

Minerals: Amazonite, Garnet, Quartz(amethyst, clear rutile, & smoky topaz), calcite, Chrysoberyl, fluorite, Moonstone, Mica, Tourmaline, & Zircon. & many more!
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Deck Boyles Farm & Mine is also in Amelia (Same Street actually) (804) 561-2395 Open: Year Round, Daylight Hours

$3 per day. & Bring the same Mining Equip., Lunch, & Drinks! (Wear old clothes because the Red Clay stains Forever)

That's it & Good Luck!

Joe

Minerals: 7 Shades of Beryl, & Smoky Quartz!

papa

Sep 21, 2006
From one newbie to another, Hi Ya'll
I don't have a scanner at home to copy this article,but check on line for Galax Gazette newspaper,dated 8 - 25 - 06 Glimpses of the past. Secret silver mine used to counterfeit coins. If you can't find it,let me know,I'll get you a copy made.Up this way give me a yell,I'm just out side Galax. If you can't hunt,research and drink coffee.
papa

captain Jack

Sep 26, 2006
Richmond, Va