Interesting old knife and what machine to pick for a beginner...

Apr 16, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi I am a beginner. I want to purchase a machine next week but not real sure what I will be hunting for. I live in Shreveport, La. Would love to meet with other metal detecting fans. Must read up on the rules. I am interested in jewelry at Cypress Lake swim area. I am interested in old creek beds and old home sites and old schools and store sites.

I also have a very interesting knife I want to post the picture of to see if anyone might have some ideas. I picked this thing up at the Shreveport Rummage sale several years back. It is fascinating to me. I can tell the composition is bronze and cooper. The patina on it makes it look very old. The handle is very decorative and looks Spanish in design to me. I have research old knives, staves, and swords and have not found anything like it. The blade is unfinished but it sits well in the hand and is very balanced. I am not sure if the patina was faked or if it is a real old antiquity. I really looks convincing.....I love it. Paid $1.00. It has a ram in the middle and two rams on the side. Very interesting.

I am thinking at this point I want the Garrett Ace or H 250...not sure what the man said on the video. Thank you for your suggestions.

Sincerely,

Brenda Middlebrook knife in hand.jpg knife blade.jpg knife.jpg knife in hand.jpg

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome! :occasion14: