Looking for advice on pan size

Campngolf

Feb 4, 2014
NorCal
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I'm a newbie and looking for any and all advice on what size/type of pan I should get to start my new hobby. I've learned of the years to spend a little more to get good stuff and things will be more successful and enjoyable. I've seen pans with big riffles, little riffles, no riffles, many riffles, multiple size riffles. About the only kind of riffles I haven't seen are automatic gold-finding.

Thanks,

Camp

Upvote 0

Bigmanco

Jan 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was recommended to get the garret pans my plan is the 14 inch and the smaller clean up pan. Im in the same boat and completely new to gold mining. I will tell you this i doubt either of us will find a better group of guys to help us. If you look through some of my threads you get alot of info they have all gave me. Welcome and good luck buddy

roadrunner

Bronze Member
Jan 28, 2012
Pinal Mountains,Arizona
Detector(s) used
Garrett Groundhog-2012-1st MD.
White's Goldmaster V/Sat-2nd-MD-2013
Tesoro Lobo-2015-3rd
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I started with a low priced metal Ewing pan.
Then I went with a Garrett 14 inch.
The a Garrett 7 inch for sampling.
Now have another 14 inch Garrett super sluice.
Also have a Keene 14 inch super pan.
Have another Black pan, 14 inch, that has no name and has triangle shaped ridges.
The ones I like best are the Garretts, and the keene. Large ridges(riffles).
I have been told that blue is the best color. Do not have that color yet.

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting