MXT Pro (or non pro) owners suggested dial-ins

jmb2email

Apr 14, 2013
Tennessee
Detector(s) used
MXT PRO 12" coil, DD 10" coil, 5.3 coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
OK, I am very new to TN but am really pumped about all the info out here. I have some questions for MXT pro owners that will help my reduce my newbie mistakes or ignorance on using this beautiful MD. I have been primarly using this device to go back over kiddy parks that I used my kids bounty hunters on, and have gone from finding a some pennies and a couple quarters to finding some nickels and some dimes, a ton of pennies and several quarters. I have found several junk trinkets as well, and probably my two biggest finds are a set of what appears to be sterling silver rings and what appears to be a very old dresser drawer handle at the base of a very large rock protrusion. My questions/requests are... can you guys that are experts at either detecting with whites, and predominantly the mxt and mxt pro series give me insight on how to dial in my detector? I have about 30-35 hours use on my mxt pro and am learning every day, but want to reduce that learn time with veteran experience inf.

I live in Middle TN, south of Nashville, so there are some battlefields and "camp sites" around me that I might be able to hunt... but will also be hunting modern kiddy parks for coins, and trying to find old closed down areas or old homes for coins/'stuff'.

1) When you start out, what steps do you take to "set" your device to the ground area you will be hunting in?

2) When you relic hunt, what do you set your dials to? I have noticed areas pop quite often as "hot rock" in middle TN that i wouldnt think would pop. what do you set your threshhold to?