My Two Cents Worth...A gorgeous 1865 Two Center!!!!!!!

Ohio Jerry

Feb 20, 2008
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX
I spent 4 hours last night playing around with overlaying an 1871 map on to google earth and I'm finding that the number of 1800's homesites that are overgrown in the woods is just incredible.
I don't have my gps yet (ordering tomorrow) but tonight i went on an hour long recon mission to see if i could find a cellarhole that is on property i already have permission to detect on and is close to the road.
I studied the map pretty close and had a pretty good idea where it might be but I wasn't in the woods 5 minutes just a 100 yards from where i parked my truck and i found the cellarhole from my 1871 map!! whoo hooo!! :laughing7:
Next was the shocker.I cranked up my DFX,my heart still racing from finding the cellarhole and I hadn't swung for more than 10 feet when i got a strong signal. A steady repeatable 69 VDI ?? I'm thinking a wheatie and out of the hole comes a two cent piece,my first!. I cleaned it enough to see the "2" and waited til i got home to find a date.
It seems like every cellarhole I've detected this year I've come up with a harmonica reed base. No radio,no TV...just the sounds of the woods and the bluezy,haunting sound of a harmonica echoing through the woods..
This civil war era two center is in excellent shape.The cleaning process was gently rolling q-tips soaked in ammonia over the coin. It took some time and a pile of q-tips but was worth every minute of the researching and cleaning!!
Happy hunting,Jerry

Attachments

• 2 center overview.JPG
    2 center overview.JPG
    90.1 KB · Views: 1,519
  • 2 center obverse dirty.JPG
    2 center obverse dirty.JPG
    65.9 KB · Views: 1,527
  • 2 center reverse dirty.JPG
    2 center reverse dirty.JPG
    43.5 KB · Views: 1,506
  • 2 center reverse 2cd clean.JPG
    2 center reverse 2cd clean.JPG
    61.8 KB · Views: 1,513
  • 2 center obverse 1st clean.JPG
    2 center obverse 1st clean.JPG