My weekend adventure at Thermal City, NC

DeepseekerADS

Gold Member
Mar 3, 2013
SW, VA - Bull Mountain
Detector(s) used
CTX, Excal II, EQ800, Fisher 1260X, Tesoro Royal Sabre, Tejon, Garrett ADSIII, Carrot, Stealth 920iX, Keene A52
Primary Interest:
Other
I had posted a question on this forum asking for recommendations for North Carolina panning adventures!

Based on responses, I spent yesterday at Thermal City. I expected to find a little gold, and I did - not much but I'm new at this. I think my greatest disability was in vision! I think next time I'll take a pair of glasses! I had real difficulty seeing gold. It had to be very bright sunlight for me to see them. The first couple of hours I spent in the beginner's panning trough.

My girlfriend was with me, and it seemed every veteran panner who walked by wanted to show me how to pan!

I went there wanting to learn, and I did. Also wanted to pick up some supplies. Got some vials, absolutely got a 10x maginifier! Supplies were really inexpensive. Also bought a sluice - a little higher, but right there so didn't have to pay any shipping, and I liked the construction of it - better than what I'd have purchased on-line I think. I plan to use the sluice on my own streams. An excellent way to get concentrates for panning, will cut out a lot of work and time consuming panning bowls full.

I had the green Garrett pan set. I realized that I personally saw the gold easier in blue pans - maybe just a personal preference.

Met some people and exchanged contact numbers.

I helped these new contacts dredge, so I got a look at that too.

For the $10 fee, this was very well worth the adventure and the learning experience!

Management was very friendly and pretty loose. I could have easily snuck in and avoided any payment. But please don't do that just because I said it. For $10 it was well worth the adventure, and it keeps their doors open.

Wasn't really crowded, but there were a whole lot of people there, and families.