NEED SOME HELP...WHAT TO SAY WHEN ASKING PERMISSION TO HUNT A PROPERTY

dla777

Greenie
Mar 7, 2011
Detector(s) used
GARRETT ACE 350
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new at detecting only been at it for a few weeks...so far just been doing ballfields,parks and tot lots.
And I'm ready to move on to better area's...I know of a farmhouse that's is slated to be torn down so the property can be used for something else.
But the Historical Commission stepped in and said...HOLD ON THERE,THAT FARMHOUSE DATES BACK TO THE 1750'S AND WE DON'T WANT IT TORN DOWN...So the tear down has been put on hold....While they look for a new suitable location for it to be moved to.

I have never asked for permission to detect as yet...and i plan on asking the owner to hunt this 1750's property.
So what do you say when asking?????
I want to sound like i know what I'm talking about...and say the right things...to better the odds on getting permission.

So is there Any tips,hints,advice you could share?
Thanks for your time reading this post....Ands thanks for any and all replies.

Upvote 0

Twisted One

Apr 18, 2011
Redding, CA
Detector(s) used
MXT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new too, from what I have read, if the historical society is poking around, then it might be unlikely that you get the chance to do a search.
But if you can find the owner of the property, then you might try it anyways, especially once the building is removed and the before the new construction begins.

I know that getting a large company to grant permission seems to be a difficult task due to fear of it ending in a personal injury suit or something.

I wonder if a rough draft "release of liability" type form would help get permission granted in those situations....

OP
OP
dla777

dla777

Greenie
Mar 7, 2011
Detector(s) used
GARRETT ACE 350
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Twisted One said: