New to this

Lilwiggles

Dec 22, 2021
I'm new to this metal detecting thing. I bought a Garrett at Gold. I'm an impatient person, so I bought a bounty hunter pioneer to get me by until my Garrett arrived. But the pioneer I dug tons of iron and some pennies. I got my Garrett last night. I went out today took a bunch of pull tabs, quarter, nickel several pennies. I also got a earring I'm not sure if the diamond is real and two rings. I have noticed, there will be times. That I will get several different readings anything from 20 up to 80. I would dig these spots and I wouldn't really find anything. I am curious, say there's a few different targets and they're reading at 20 to 30. At any time would my metal detector add these numbers to give me an 80?

Upvote 1

Red_desert

Gold Member
Feb 21, 2008
Midwest USA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250/GTA 1,000; Fisher Gold Bug-2; Gemini-3; Unique Design L-Rods
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Aluminum and some iron change depending on how close or whether direct hit. Not finding anything in a park can be pocket spill pennies. Try coming in from only one direction, then probe around surface. More pennies you remove, more beeps become solid and unbroken. Iron close to coil while passing over a good target, can lower id reading also.

Welcome to TNet!

OP
OP
L

Lilwiggles

Dec 22, 2021
Aluminum and some iron change depending on how close or whether direct hit. Not finding anything in a park can be pocket spill pennies. Try coming in from only one direction, then probe around surface. More pennies you remove, more beeps become solid and unbroken. Iron close to coil while passing over a good target, can lower id reading also.

Welcome to TNet!
Thanks, I'm still trying to figure it all out. The only place I can really go is a lake about 30 miles south of where I am seems the sand on the beach isn't frozen. That and in the park under all the trees,haven't tried that yet. Will hit the beach again tomorrow.

OP
OP
L

Lilwiggles