Newbie seeking permission to detect (and dig) on private property

Feb 3, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello!

I'm pretty new to this, but I've identified a location of interest on private property. I haven't contacted or even identified the property owners yet, but I am curious as to what is considered to be the correct way to handle something like this.

I am in Kansas, in the United States.

I intend to make clear my intentions to detect, and to dig if I get any hits, also that any holes will be filled back in, and no debris or trash will be left onsite. Beyond that, I'm unsure what's considered proper. I don't know if it affects anything, but the property is farmland.

Is it best to seek permission in writing? Do I offer to pay for permission upon contact? Do I offer a percentage of anything found (I say that fully realizing how unlikely it is that a first time still find anything of interest)?

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Best regards,

Agerate

Last edited:
Upvote 0

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif
1st - I noticed this was your very first post - so, Welcome Aboard Lier X. Agerate! You didn't list your state (or country) in your profile. So, you might consider jumping over to Sub-Forum: Select Your Area.... for information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.) directly related to your state (or country).
tn_metal_detector.gif
2nd - A quick search brought up a bunch of threads talking about "permission" to hunt. Here are a few...

OP
OP
L
Feb 3, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif