Not sure How I didn;t notice this

Truffleshuffle

Sep 19, 2010
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Not sure How I didn;t notice that what I thought was a penny was actualy a dime. I guess it was just coverd with so much crud it looked like a penny. It was my oldest find so far of coins. It was a 1965 dime. What years were dimes made of silver? I belive this one is a clad dime. Althought I am a bit new to this so im a bit fuzzy on what clad is.

DigginThePast

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2008
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Concerning silver in coinage meant for circulation.

Dimes, quarters and half dollars are 90% silver when being 1964 and before. Dimes and quarters, excepting some proof only issues, are copper-nickel clad when 1965 and later. Half Dollars are 40% silver 1965-1970 and then copper nickel-clad thereafter excepting certain proof only issues.

Dollar coins are 90% up to the Eisenhower Dollar series. 1971-1976 Ikes minted in San Francisco are 40% silver.

And don't forget the 5 cent coin of relative recent mintage. Jefferson "Nickels" minted from 1942-1945 with the large P,D or S on the reverse above Monticello are 35% silver.

There are also a few very rare strikes of some of these coins that were minted on the wrong planchet but virtually never found in circulation due to the extreme rarity.

OP
OP
T

Truffleshuffle

Sep 19, 2010
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
DigginThePast said:

Dimes, quarters and half dollars are 90% silver when being 1964 and before. Dimes and quarters, excepting some proof only issues, are copper-nickel clad when 1965 and later. Half Dollars are 40% silver 1965-1970 and then copper nickel-clad thereafter excepting certain proof only issues.

Dollar coins are 90% up to the Eisenhower Dollar series. 1971-1976 Ikes minted in San Francisco are 40% silver.

And don't forget the 5 cent coin of relative recent mintage. Jefferson "Nickels" minted from 1942-1945 with the large P,D or S on the reverse above Monticello are 35% silver.