possible small hammer

truckinbutch

Silver Member
Feb 15, 2008
Morgantown,WV
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Landstar
My grandson found this piece in our creek yesterday . It is denser and heavier than the sandstone creek bed . I'm clueless in this field . Any input is appreciated .I will try to post other views if it is warranted .

Attachments

• DSCF1090.JPG
    DSCF1090.JPG
    68.6 KB · Views: 342
  • DSCF1090.JPG
    DSCF1090.JPG
    68.6 KB · Views: 327
  • DSCF1090.JPG
    DSCF1090.JPG
    68.6 KB · Views: 337
  • DSCF1091.JPG
    DSCF1091.JPG
    68.1 KB · Views: 305
Upvote 0
P

pickaway

My guess its a geofact but hey i'm no expert,so we'll see what they say... :help:

OP
OP
truckinbutch

truckinbutch

Silver Member
Feb 15, 2008
Morgantown,WV
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Landstar
I added another picture . Profile and seemingly worked edges made me think of a nut cracking hammer or for rough working flint . Weighs nearly 8 0z and taper in the middle would have accepted a
haft .

uniface

Silver Member
Jun 4, 2009
Central Pennsylvania
Primary Interest:
Other
If it's obviously different stuff than the other rocks in the area, either somebody carried it in, or it fell out of the sky.

OP
OP
truckinbutch

truckinbutch

Silver Member
Feb 15, 2008
Morgantown,WV
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Landstar
uniface said:
If it's obviously different stuff than the other rocks in the area, either somebody carried it in, or it fell out of the sky.
My point of interest exactly . There have been flint points , a large hammer stone , and other
artifacts found on our farm .
This 8yr old is always looking for what might be an artifact . This is his first possible . Be great if it turns out to be the real deal but we won't support fantasy . Bottom line is that he has a great eye for an 8yr old .

blindpig

Sep 29, 2007
So. Cali
Detector(s) used
Well,.Sometimes ?