--- Prohibition Era Cache ---

spyguy

Jan 30, 2006
Well, it's been four days and I'm still torn up over not finding a cache I've been pursuing for 3 years now.... :'( The loot in question involved a deserted island here in the bay area accessible only by boat --- in my case a kayak. According to my lead info it was a small cache put down by some guys involved in a 1927 robbery (money & jewelry). Buried supposedly under a rare fruit tree with a coiled snake carved in it. I was sure I'd found the right tree although the only coiled snake I saw had diamonds on his back and raised his head and stuck out his tongue when I almost stepped on him!!! Fortunately, he didn't take offense and laid still as I backed carefully away from him!
The trip out took me 2 hours of hectic paddling to complete and I tore my trusty inflatable COLEMAN kayak on something in the low tide. Needless to say, I had a waterlogged ride the rest of the way there and on the way back.... It took me only an hour and a half coming back because this time I was with the tide. Despite using a waterproof case, my detector took on some salt water in the housing and has been acting a little funky since. I'd just gotten a new 10" search coil to increase my odds too. Mind you this is after I bought a 2-box detector 3 years ago that proved useless out there because of the surrounding salt water. Couldn't even tune the _____' thing!