Bronze Member
Nov 24, 2005
va beach, va
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
se pro, excal. II, ctx 3030
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
i have never owned tiger shark, but i hear much about it not working well in salt water.....................check that out

excal is great, i had two and two sovereigns

but here in va beach in the past several months, some new White's Beachunter ID's have started to show up..................they do ok and several hundred bucks less than excal.

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have never used the Tiger, I do have a Beach Hunter ID and an Excal 1000. I like the Excal best, but I am also a newbie so take it for what it is worth.

Some things to consider, the Excal really holds its value, the Beach Hunter control box floats, and theTiger comes with a lifetime warranty. I am selling my Beach Hunter.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have two Excals, CZ20, 1280's and a Tiger Shark along with acouple PI's. I perfer the Excal over the Tiger for one reason, it's extra depth with it's DD coil coverage. However, the Tiger has interchangeable search coils and a lifetime warranty. Plus I have the huge 18 X 3 inch Clean Sweep Coil for it which isn't made anymore. The Tiger Shark has a saltwater mode switch so salt isn't a problem at all.