tattoo detector

Montana Jim

Gold Member
Sep 18, 2006
Montana
I've never heard of such a thing... is it reading anything else? Seriously? Or...

Is the tattoo of a heavy metal band?

Metallica?
Iron Maiden?
Clockwork?
Iron Butterfly?
Tool?
Chrome Shift?
Hammers of Misfortune?

:)

chefrider

Feb 11, 2007
N ALABAMA
Detector(s) used
A T PRO
Montana, how do you do it? Do these things just come natural,if so you should have your own comedy show?

Montana Jim

Gold Member
Sep 18, 2006
Montana
Thanks chefman... It just comes to me.

Seriously though - I do want to remind you I am not a doctor, but I did sleep in a Holiday Inn last night.

Check this out!

This article on Tattoo Ink Chemistry... The breakdowns are pretty interesting: http://chemistry.about.com/library/weekly/aa121602a.htm

And this question and answer from the below listed site:

Q. Can a Tattoo React with Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)?

A. Yes, there is medical evidence that a tattoo can cause a reaction during magnetic resonance imaging (an MRI). The tattoo inks expected to cause a reaction are those containing iron oxide (some black, brown, red, flesh, yellow, orange). Not all dyes of these colors contain iron oxide. Also, some dyes of other colors may contain lesser quantities of magnetic metal.

Source: http://chemistry.about.com/cs/howthingswork/f/bltattoomri.htm

Montana Jim's humble conclusion: After Googleing "Magnetic Resonance Imaging metal detector" I think It could happen! Lets get this on MythBusters!

birdy1976

Mar 3, 2007
Russell Springs,KY
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 PRO
:o Yes there are different types of Oxides in certain colors of Ink I thought everyone had probably the episode of Mythbusters where they check to see if a MRI machine can make a tattoo explode!!!!

P.S.
No they won't!!!!

Montana Jim

Gold Member
Sep 18, 2006
Montana
birdy1976 said: