Used MXT, XLT or M6

Afro

Tenderfoot
Nov 14, 2011
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi Guys

I've been trawling the net trying to learn about metal detecting and this forum is a real treasure trove right here.
I'm amazed at the knowledge of some of the guys, especially the dealers with decades of experience.

I'm leaning towards a White's machine as my fist MD because of their famous service. But because money is tight and I'm just starting out (who knows I might have terrible MD skills and end up hating it) I am going to get a used machine.

MDers seem to be very reasonable folks because most of the used machines on eBay are well looked after. It's one of my pet peeves, guys who can't look after their tools.

Ebay seems flooded with used XLTs right now and similar machines might go for $300 up to $450 and they all seem to be the same to me??

I'd like to hear your opinion on used MXT, XLT and M6, equally used (say 3 years). What would be the equivalent price level for those machines.

I'm guessing anything under these $ numbers is a bargain, but hey I'm a newbie.
XLT = $350
MXT =$330
M6 = $300

worldtalker

Gold Member
May 11, 2011
Western Mass.
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
Other
Afro,The M-6 is a reliable machine,WITHOUT all the bells and whistles,simple,2controls,discrimination,sensitivity,good depth,super ground balance. God Bless HH Chris

OP
OP
A

Afro

Tenderfoot
Nov 14, 2011
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
worldtalker said:
Afro,The M-6 is a reliable machine,WITHOUT all the bells and whistles,simple,2controls,discrimination,sensitivity,good depth,super ground balance. God Bless HH Chris

Hi Worldtalker, so are you saying that instead of the M6 for $300, you would rather take the MXT for $330 or XLT for $350?

What prices would make those 3 machines on a parity?

Would the M6 for $250 be a fairer price?

worldtalker

Gold Member
May 11, 2011
Western Mass.
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
Other
Afro said:
worldtalker said: