Using your smartphone as a metal detector!

Digdeeper2

Greenie
Apr 29, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi All,

I'm new to TN. Been reading a lot about MDs but recently came across a video on youtube that someone was demonstrating a metal detector which uses a mobile phone as a main unit, a customized coil and an app.

It is a startup project and they aren't any units available for testing yet. (Link below)

I'd like those who have the knowledge and hands-on experience with electronic to tell me how is this going to work, considering the fact that smartphones can not send electromagnetic signals via headphone jack!
Thanks.

Last edited:

Nitric

Silver Member
Mar 8, 2014
Dallas,GA
Detector(s) used
CZ6A
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It's a cool idea! I don't know enough about electronics to understand all of that. But... the coil is where the electromagnetic signal is from...The phone and app are just analyzing the info. and translating it into something. I would imagine there is a lot more tech in a phone than most detectors? ....Who knows..I sure don't, I'm just guessing at things I have not much a clue about.:laughing7: There biggest work is probably the app?

BillA

Bronze Member
May 12, 2005
Drake, Costa Rica
detectors transmit, and recieve
no idea how they are going send a pulse, receiving seems doable with a smartphone
interesting indeed

Tim

edit: AKYOR is using an external USB battery pack to power a booster in the coil, nice

Last edited:

mh9162013

Mar 22, 2019
KY
Detector(s) used
Fisher Research Labs F2, Equinox 600, Pro-Find 35, & Garrett Carrot.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hopefully, whatever drawbacks there are to using a smartphone (lag in communication b/w phone and coil, etc.) might be overcome by the relatively massive computing power of the phone.

Toecutter

Bronze Member
Nov 30, 2018
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Check out Air Detectors they are currently on Kick starter