What is your favorite long handled scoop?

Massbaycolonist

Apr 15, 2006
Massachusetts
Greetings. I'm going to start surf detecting soon. I need to get a long-handled scoop. What are some of the best long handled scoops out there, and why? As for my style of surf detecting, I try not to go in waves/surf that is over my knees. I found one long handled scoop online that seems to be intelligently made (except for the material used). ProStock's Pro/Scoop. It's on the pricey side at $149.00. I would prefer to find a less expensive scoop that would work well.

One more thing about ProStock's Pro/Scoop: They use steel for the basket!! Why didn't they use aircraft grade aluminum? This scoop weighs in at six pounds! I think a lighter weight scoop would be more appropriate.

Oh-one more thing: I would like a scoop that is at least six inches wide.

Thank you, stay safe, and HH. Kevin

Upvote 0

beachbuzzard

Greenie
Jul 22, 2008
hello massybaycolonist. I'm no expert in fact a brand newbie thats beach detected at least a half a dozen times now. I bought the oro toro from pro scoops. It also has the galv. wire mesh in the bottom. Don't know how long this will last either. Helps the wet sand come out easier if threres no water around to help ya. Good craftmanship and built tough. He also has cheaper ones and I don't think I needed the stainless lip. As far as other scoops, this is the only one I have ever seen. Thanks for the info on the ring.

GuerillaBill

Feb 12, 2008
Venice, Florida
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Minelab Excalibur II, Whites BeachHunter 300
Based on a recommendation by another member here, I purchased and have been using the RTG PRO ALUMINUM 6" WATER SCOOP(#RTGBB6)
for about six months now, and have been extremely pleased with it.

It digs well, has a foot kick, and is light enough that you won't mind dragging it behind you in the sand for several hours a day.