A Casual Day Detecting in The Yard Yields Old Coin and Relics.

VTColonialDigger

Oct 13, 2016
Vermont
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 400
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I had some time late this afternoon and decided to see what I could find in my yard. I have been detecting my yard for about two years so I wasn't really expecting to find anything very good at all. I started by detecting around a large lilac bush that I not detected around as much as the rest of my yard. I was going slow listening for any alright signals. Eventually, I got an okay signal, dug the plug, and was surprised to find a thimble in the bottom of the hole!

thimble.JPG
Here it is after some cleaning. I believe it to be aluminium.

I detected some more around the lilac bush and soon got a scratchy signal that bounced anywhere from 70-85. "This doesn't sound too bad" I thought to myself. I dug the signal and took a scoop of dirt out of the hole with my shovel. I used my pinpointer to locate the signal, soon found the target, and was happy to see that it was either a coin or a token. When I picked it up I thought it was an old arcade token because of it's size and weight, but realized I was wrong when I wiped the dirt away and saw the words "ONE CENT 1859." Once I saw the maple leaf wreath around the edge of the coin, I knew that it was a Canadian large cent.

1859largecentindirtfront.JPG 1859largecentindirtback.JPG
Here is the coin after a basic brush-off.

1859front.jpg 1859back.jpg
Cleaned...

I was thrilled to find this because it's in such great condition, and it's my oldest Canadian coin I have ever found!

After this I dug a mid tone that turned out to be one of those pesky mason jar lids.

brokenmasonjarlid.JPG

I moved along and soon found my coil over an alright penny signal. I dug and dug and soon pulled this really nice spoon out of the hole

spooninthedirt.JPG
Fresh from the dirt...

fancyspoon.JPG
Cleaned...