All metal mode

Tenderfoot

Mar 17, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I've been using my Excaliber II for a few years but only for the couple months I'm at a beach. I have been using it in discriminate but for the first time I'm trying to primarily use Pinpoint mode to learn and possibly get more depth. Here are my questions
1. If I get a target in pinpoint, switch to discriminate and hear a null does that mean it's always steel?
2. If I get a target in pinpoint, switch to discriminate and the threshold does not change, does it mean that the target is just too deep for discriminate?
3. Why use pinpoint if you're not going to dig everything? How do you decide what to dig when using pinpoint?
Thanks for the help.

Upvote 0

ROBOTCOP13

Jul 29, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Advice

So I've been using my Excaliber II for a few years but only for the couple months I'm at a beach. I have been using it in discriminate but for the first time I'm trying to primarily use Pinpoint mode to learn and possibly get more depth. Here are my questions
1. If I get a target in pinpoint, switch to discriminate and hear a null does that mean it's always steel?
2. If I get a target in pinpoint, switch to discriminate and the threshold does not change, does it mean that the target is just too deep for discriminate?
3. Why use pinpoint if you're not going to dig everything? How do you decide what to dig when using pinpoint?
Thanks for the help.

1. Means it's iron
2. Yes, take away one scoop of sand and recheck in discriminate to see if you then get a signal. The difference in depth between the 2 modes is just a few inches so one scoop take away is usually enough.