Another newbie here with some questions...

bogside

Greenie
May 6, 2005
Minneapolis, MN
Hi all!

I'm excited because this is my first (hopefully the first of many) post on the forum. My name is Adam --I'm 31 and I'm from Minnesota. I started reading this site for advice a couple of months ago because I was interested in getting into MDing. I knew nothing (and still don't) but I was anxious to learn where to start. All I had was a coin collection that my grandfather had given me years ago. A lot of IHs, some seated liberties, large cents, a lot of foreign coins, etc. Nothing really rare but some cool stuff nonetheless. I wanted to learn how to find more!

In reading the site I've gleaned a lot of really good information already and some great tips besides. There are obviously a lot of really cool and knowledgeable people here, and I'm excited to learn from you all!

So, after a lot of reading and lurking I finally made my decision and bought an ACE 250 from Kellyco last week. Lots of favorable reviews so I figured I'd give 'er a spin. After waiting a longgggggg five days, it finally arrived today!! And guess what? It was raining all evening here in Minneapolis. Go figure.

I made a little coin garden in the back yard and played around for an hour or so before the skies opened up. I tried digging some holes after getting some tones in all-metal mode but surprise! All the holes were empty. I'm going to need some time to learn how to decipher what my machine is telling me, obviously. Tomorrow the plan is to go to a sandy area like a local playground and hunt for some clad; the manual said that's a good place to start learning to dig.

Anyway, some basic newbie questions in case anyone wants to answer:

1) how high off the ground should my coil be? The book says 1-2", but is that above the GRASS, or above the ground beneath the grass (in other words, IN the grass)?