SeArkHunter

Greenie
Mar 19, 2018
Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 300
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am new to this hobby, and I want to learn as much as I can about it, to include the laws surrounding the hobby. What are the things I should be researching in this regard? I know there are a lot of places that are off limits to hunting, but how do you go about finding out where those places are? What are the laws for hunting on Civil War battlefields and old encampments, for example?

Pudsbrat

Aug 21, 2004
Mena Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250,Garrett ProPointer....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
hey where in Arkansas are you???....actual battlefields that are National park and state owned are off limits....encampments on private property are up to landowners permission.....around the battlefield on private land is good...either where they came toward or left afterwards.....parks, old homes, vacant lots, old churches are good as long as permission is granted from owner.....

Javadroid

Silver Member
Jul 6, 2017
Northwest Arkansas
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey all, I am in NW Arkansas. One law to know if that if you find something that is over 100 years old, you aren't supposed to keep it or take it out. Meaning, if you find a 1907 Indian head penny on the ground or in change, you can keep it, but if you detect and dig it, it's an artifact. I think that's a stupid law, but it is what it is. I forget things easily, so I probably slip up on that one occasionally... here are some links:

MDHTALK - Arkansas Metal Detecting Law & Regulations

https://www.metal-detecting-ghost-towns-of-the-east.com/metal-detecting-in-Arkansas.html

https://ozarksdetector.com/tag/arkansas-metal-detecting-laws/

hbru123

Bronze Member
Jun 4, 2016
San Diego California
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting