Been looking for A OLD PICNIC Grove for at least 20 YEARS

Gare

Gold Member
Dec 30, 2012
Canton Ohio Area
πŸ† Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Presently using Deus 2's & have Minelabs, Nokta's Tesoro's DEus's Have them all . Have WAY to many need to get rid of some
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Me and the land owner went out to where we had a clue it may have been . A month or longer I posted a picture of what i thought was a old hand water pump base. Yesterday we went back there and did Locator search with my Deus 2 . What I call a locator search is a fast walk looking for any targets such as nails or screws any thing that shows up to indicate people were in the area.I got there around 10:25 AM EST I searched till around 1:00 PM In all that time of searching My Deus sounded off FOUR TIMES !! I thought my detector was broke . I kept throwing my pocket coins down to make sure it was working. I have been detecting since 1968 almost 55 years !!! I have NEVER went out and GOT LESS TARGETS of ANY KIND !!!
The targets i found was a Shotgun Shell head brass. A strange piece of wire a wadded up piece of aluminum foil That I did not take a picture of and a what i believe is a piece of plow horse tack. One reason for lack of signals may be the area FLOODS a lot The piece of tack i dug was about 10 inches deep the head stamp was about the same. Things i noticed that pump type pipe was about18 inches off the ground. I am thinking maybe the grove area is just under to much clean dirt to be found.

Finds1.jpg
Finds2.jpg
Finds3.jpg
Finds4.jpg

Upvote 9

river roamer

Bronze Member
Dec 9, 2022
East Coast
Detector(s) used
Excalibur II Excalibur 1000 Equinox 900
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
You have a few years more in the detecting field than me. I work in the water mostly, and I have gone out and found nothing but trash. Don't get dissapointed. It's not like it used to be, when your good finds outnumbered your bad.

OP
OP
Gare

Gare

Gold Member