🔎 UNIDENTIFIED Can anyone identify this rock?

Tom999w

Tenderfoot
Feb 28, 2024
Hi everyone, newbie here. I was walking through the woods along a creek in upstate New York and found this rock in the creek. I've never seen anything like it, so thought I'd show it here and see if anyone can figure out what it is. It's about 12" high. I'm thinking it may be a rock full of fossils, but I surely don't want to break it open because I don't know what I'm doing and don't want to destroy it. I've also searched on the internet for a couple hours and didn't find anything that resembles this.

Attachments

• rock1.jpg
    rock1.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 100
  • rock2.jpg
    rock2.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 80
OP
OP
T

Tom999w

Tenderfoot
Feb 28, 2024
It doesn't seem like a typical bunch of fossils made from dead creatures. It seems more like living, moving things that were somehow stopped mid-motion and then fossilized.

Upvote 1

CreekSide

Silver Member
Jan 31, 2023
It’s probably a mudstone. Mudstones can be millions of years old. Petrified mud, I carried one home from our local river. If it is it will be chalky on the inside so don’t bother breaking it open. Water and erosion can do some crazy things to rocks. Put it in your bushes out front of your house and adore it for years to come.

Upvote 3
OP
OP
T

Tom999w

Tenderfoot
Feb 28, 2024
It’s probably a mudstone. Mudstones can be millions of years old. Petrified mud, I carried one home from our local river. If it is it will be chalky on the inside so don’t bother breaking it open. Water and erosion can do some crazy things to rocks. Put it in your bushes out front of your house and adore it for years to com