• IMG_7056.JPG
    IMG_7056.JPG
    50 KB · Views: 70

GopherDaGold

Silver Member
Dec 12, 2009
St. Charles County, Missouri
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Tesoro Vaquero, Bounty Hunter Land Star, Teknetics Delta 4000, Minelab Equinox 600, Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My WAG is yes. Looks Civil War to me but I'm no expert.

Upvote 0

GopherDaGold

Silver Member
Dec 12, 2009
St. Charles County, Missouri
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Tesoro Vaquero, Bounty Hunter Land Star, Teknetics Delta 4000, Minelab Equinox 600, Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you for your reply--I thought Civil War too, but many of the CW photos I looked at show a jacket with two rows of buttons instead of one. So still not sure.

I found several examples of CW uniform coats on Google that had one row of buttons.

Upvote 0

DCMatt

Gold Member
Oct 12, 2006
Herndon Virginia
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 600, EX II, & Musketeer, White's Classic
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I did a little poking around and found the photographer died in 1877. That fact is inconclusive regarding your tintype being CW, but I did discover the photographer's son was in the Union Army. It stands to reason that he would have photographed his son in uniform. Horace B. Wilkinson was mustered in to Company B of the 17th Illinois Volunteer Infantry in 1863. Later he transferred to Company I of the 8th.

Is this the same guy?

HBWilkcompare.JPG

I want to say 'yes' but it's hard to know for sure. Anyone have access to facial recognition software?

Upvote 0

ivan salis

Gold Member
Feb 5, 2007
callahan,fl
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
delta 4000 / ace 250 - used BH and many others too
look at the sword's handle and belt buckle design to assist in dating

Upvote 0

Breezie

Gold Member
Oct 3, 2009
North Carolina
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
White's DFX & Spectrum~Garrett's Pro-Pointer~VibraProbe
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting