Confederate Camp

randyinarkansas

Nov 2, 2007
Fayetteville
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 2500 and Garrett Ace 250
I've been hunting a piece of land that is supposed to have a Confederate Camp on it but I'm having a hard time finding anything to confirm. This is the first site like this that I've hunted so any tips you all can give me will be appreciated.

The land has an old house place and a road that dates back to this time period and several springs are on the property and lots of open fields.

Johnny Ringo Silver

Dec 6, 2007
KANSAS
Detector(s) used
Minelab SE and Sunray probe
Randy, i'm not a pro at relic hunting but I have done some and know a few things. Depending on what time of year it was SUMMER/WINTER, the encampment should be on the slope of a hill somewhat close to a water source. As you move along metal detecting it is probably pretty quiet for the most part until you get around the encampment. It will start being chattery and should start getting the little iron signals from square nails and such. If you start pulling up slop lead and stuff, you are very close if not right on top of it. If its alot of ground to cover then put on a big coil if you have that option and start walking the area covering alot of ground until you start to get those signals. Once you start to hear the signals, slow down and work the area as well as you can. Good Luck!! Johnny 8) 8)

OP
OP
randyinarkansas

randyinarkansas

Nov 2, 2007
Fayetteville
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 2500 and Garrett Ace 250
Dennis- I live in Fayetteville, which is steep in history. Lots of places to hunt in this area, but there's also alot of hunters.
Randy

quaydj

Dec 18, 2007
Cabot, Arkansas
Randy -
I've always like that area and yes there is a lot of history in them there woods.
Do you still need a hand finding the camp?
Dennis

warsawdaddy

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2004
Edwards,Missouri
Detector(s) used
MXT - DeLeon - Gamma 6000