Detecting for gold at depths up to two feet

G

ghostminer

Looking for some advice on purchasing a detector for gold. Our company has 300 acres of historic mining property in the Sierra Nevada Mts. We are permitting for excavating equipment at present but I'm also interested in detecting for gold in old tailings & exposed bedrock. I have no experience with metal detectors and there sure are a bunch of them on the market. There are heavy concentrations of black sand or iron on the mine, and I would like to detect from surface to possibly two feet in depth. Any suggestions?

Upvote 0

RobRieman

Silver Member
Nov 12, 2012
Cincinnati Ohio
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's V3i / Minelab E-trac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
If your searching for gold bars maybe. If it's small gold forget it at 2 feet.

OP
OP
G

ghostminer

What would be a reasonable depth?

Dan(NM)

Bronze Member
Dec 3, 2014
Central Texas
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Modified Explorer 2
Raptor c-31 digger
31" Lesche Sampson
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Need to get yourself a Minelab GPX if you want to find gold at depth.

OP
OP
G

ghostminer

Thanks Dan. What's the learning curve on the GPX & what model would you recommend. Remember, I have no metal detecting experience.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
The learning curve for a Minelab GPX or GPZ is steep, and you need to buy your machine from an authorized dealer that GIVES FIELD INSTRUCTION as part of your purchase. I know of at least three in Arizona.

Dan(NM)

Bronze Member
Dec 3, 2014
Central Texas
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Modified Explorer 2
Raptor c-31 digger