Diving wheez?

Zodiacdiverdave

Silver Member
Mar 18, 2011
The North Atlantic Ocean
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, AT Pro, Sea Hunter II, JW Fisher Proton Magnatometer, Shovel, Hammer and chisel
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I have been diving for several years now. But have always been curious. I have no history of asthma but sometimes after I dive I get wheezy and have a hard time breathing deep. If I breath deep it will make me cough. Lasts few hours sometimes overnight. Just curious if anyone else gets this or knows why.
Hi there FWT, your wheezyness is most likely caused by the extreemly dry air in side your scuba tank. The air is dried to a due point of -53*F or lower, this can erritate the breathing passages. Some people are just more sensitive to the dry air. If you are pumping your oun you may want to have your air tested to ensure that there is now oil residue in your air. You dive shop should be testing their air on a regular basis.
ZDD

OP
OP
FunWithTreasure

FunWithTreasure

Oct 12, 2008
I get my tanks filled at the local dive shop but they just went out of business so I am gonna try my other shop. Maybe that will be the difference.

Zodiacdiverdave

Silver Member
Mar 18, 2011
The North Atlantic Ocean
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, AT Pro, Sea Hunter II, JW Fisher Proton Magnatometer, Shovel, Hammer and chisel
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You may want to have the new dive shop to do a VIP inspection on your tanks and ask them to have a good look for any residue from oil or filter media. Tell them you have been having issues breathing after dives.
ZDD

OP
OP
FunWithTreasure

FunWithTreasure

Oct 12, 2008
That's a good idea. They are due for hydro now anyway. Thanks for all your help I would have never suspected that.

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used