Feedback on Sampling for Dredging Please?

starsplitter

Jan 20, 2007
Newbie here. Posted this in another section but recieved very little feedback. Hoping to improve it here. I am hoping for opinions as to the viability of dredging.

We just came back from a river located at about 3,500 feet in southern Ecuador. Relatively wide. Average depth probably about 1-3 meters. We sampled with a pick, shovel, bucket, classifier, and pans.

The sampling was along the bank, in some bedrock crevices (ledges at flood level), and in the water along the shallows in likely areas. We sampled four locations along about 200 meters of river. All on the same side.

We filled 8 buckets two thirds full with classified material, we got a little less than a gram and numerous small rubies (the black sand shimmered in red). Also, the pans often turned up a faint "glow" along the edge of the black sand. Earlier, in the same area, was found a gram plus sized nugget up on the shelf.

Please give opinions as to worthiness of the sampling and what it indicates. We are considering using a dredge. Has anyone heard of a Vera dredge? Thank you.

Alaskan Adventurer

Dec 20, 2009
Ecuador
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Wow, Star. Sounds like the area has the major potential. Close to a gram in less than 8 buckets is quite rich. Nice find on the nugget. Did you try out your detector in the area?

Yes, a dredge would be very viable there. Is the area remote, or is it easy access?

You should tighten up your sampling. I generally sample in a grid formation, first followling the river. Make sure you read the river a bit and look for inside bends. Huge boulders in an inside bend has huge potential for a decent paystreak.

When you sample, take the exact same amount of gravel in each spot. I will start by digging holes following the river with about 5 meters between each hole.

Here is an example.

Hole 1- say I find 1/10th of a gram. I move forward another 5 meters.