Finding gold rings; custom program for V3i

chirper97

Mar 28, 2005
south charleston, wv
Detector(s) used
White's V3i, White's DFX 300, Garrett Infinium PI, Fisher CZ6A, Garrett Deepseeker and Groundhog ADS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I enjoyed this step by step instructional video for creating a custom program to find gold rings. I am new to V3i and was able to do it. Now to find some gold rings! Addendum: a reply by 'King Fox' to this video read "if you enter expert mode, tab down to configure. Then scroll down to live search screen. Select search. Select spectragraph then intensity Leave at 90 so you can turn your rx up for more depth. In the same menu scroll down to resolution and set at 1. Then set to 22.5 so that only gold will peak the bars on the spectragraph and most everything else will have a poor return signal. This works for coin shooting as well to be able to see multiple targets and rust halos." I attempted to improve the grammar of King Fox's reply, but haven't tried that modification yet.

Last edited:

gunsil

Silver Member
Dec 27, 2012
lower hudson valley, N.Y.
Detector(s) used
safari, ATPro, infinium, old Garrett BFO, Excal, Nox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Any detector will find a gold ring if one gets the coil over said ring. No settings in the world on any machine will help with that. Also any detector made will still see an aluminum pull tab and it will read the same as a gold ring. Different karats of gold, different alloys in the same karat, different sized rings will all read differently. Gotta dig a ton of junk to find anything gold since lead and aluminum will give similar tones and VDI.

Last edited:
OP
OP
chirper97

chirper97

Mar 28, 2005
south charleston, wv
Detector(s) used
White's V3i, White's DFX 300, Garrett Infinium PI, Fisher CZ6A, Garrett Deepseeker and Groundhog ADS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good presentation on V3i and gold nuggets. Appreciated his technique for testing.

OP
OP
chirper97