First Time Out With Minelab Safari - Silver Rings in an olddddd park

BrettCo124

Apr 29, 2009
Outside of Philadelphia, PA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari, Tesoro Sand Shark, Bazooka Gold Trap Mini, Gold Rush Nugget Bucket, Garrett Supersluice Gold Pans
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey everyone,

I'm sorta new here. I've had an account and always looked at what others had to say. Now I want to join in on the fun.
I picked up a Minelab Safari Metal Detector about a week ago. The machine is an absolute monster. I went out for my first
hunt today in an old park dated back to the 1600's. A lot of history in this area. Anyhow, I found these two rings shown in the photos. Both are stamped inside, one says .925 and the other without a decimal place 925. And something next to it that I can not make out just yet.

My question to everybody is, how can I date these? I am still new to this hobby, and everybody is probably laughing at me (lol) saying "thats probably not even 10 years old!" But I am excited to say that this is my first silver find. Like I said, I am on a very old property with history linked to it, but it is still a park so it doesn't mean the rings are old, as much as I am hoping they are. I have detected in the past, but I never did any research or put the time in to this awesome hobby. I had an ACE 250, also a great machine, but I've only found coins. And when I say coins, I mean like 2001 and up, lol. I couldn't find an old coin if they were laying on top of the ground staring at me in the face. I wish I could...Perhaps you all may have suggestions on that as well?

photo.JPG (sorry the photo is sideways, you can see the one has a half-sun face)

Thanks everybody!

Brett

Attachments

• photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    45.2 KB · Views: 75
  • photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    45.2 KB · Views: 73
  • photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    45.2 KB · Views: 78
Last edited:
Upvote 2

lesche Is More

Mar 14, 2014
North Dartmouth Mass
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari