Getting started in Texas

G

gwmarsh

My wife and I are extremely new to this and I would appreciate any help, pointers or info. Not to sound too novice, but what is the best way to get started in cache searching, gold panning/mines, old indian and battle sites? We live in N. Texas north of Dallas. We are not doing this to find the one cache that makes us rich, it's the history of the area and the thrill of the "hunt" that intrigues us. Any info to help us on our way would be much appreciated... things like what books to read, map/s sources, etc. Thanks!! ;D

The best way to get started in your area would be like any other area. Just do it. Pick a spot and start hunting. One thing will lead to another and then to another. I found a local author in my neighborhood who had already researched the town and he included nearly one hundred maps in his book. These maps have proved to be beneficial. I started out looking for Civil War artifacts and, with the luck of being a novice, I found an "I" button, which at the time was valued at about thirty dollars. I have progressed since. My advice may not be too helpful, but I've found that if I employ the tools that I have at hand, better ones come along as I need them. If you have a place nearby that you could pan for gold, I'd do that. It's fun.

How far north of Dallas do you live and in which direction-there is a club in Bonham which could be very helpful to your efforts-

Thanks so far with the info. I live in the Frisco area north of Dallas. I am going to try going to a local library and begin searching for Civil War forts, old maps, old towns, etc. in this area. Like I said we are JUST starting this, so we are doing a bunch of research right now trying to compile information that is conducive to our interests.

You are located close enough to the Red River and the Oklahoma to find some good stuff, try the old ferry crossings on the river and the WW2 german prison camp that was located up there.