Getting started

lextcee

Oct 26, 2010
Hi:

I'm new to his field and am anxious to get started. I have a Pioneer 505 detector. Please weigh in on whether or not this is a good beginners model. But my real question is about getting started. i live in the New York area, close to Long Island. I "get" beaches. Sometimes while driving around I see wooded areas in my neighborhood and get curious if it's worth tooling around to see what I might find. I also want to be consicous of unintentionally pissing off folks by digging around areas that are considered private property. I realize that this is probably "ass backwards"--that most of you do the research as to where you might have the best luck of finding something. If this is indeed the case, can someone give me tips on doing research to locate areas where I can roam freely in hopes of making a find? Is it normal to feel self-conscious pulling off a road to head into the woods to see what I might find? Anyone ever get stopped by the cops? Thanks. Just laying it all out there.....

Dwight S

Apr 26, 2010
NC
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT-Pro & White's TDI & Tesoro Compass uMax
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Read 700+ times and no replies... I'll be the first. Can't tell you anything about the detector, don't know anything about it. Read your manual, toss a couple of coins out on the grass and run the coil over them. Get used to some of the sounds it makes. Work around your house, in your yard. You may be surprised what you may find. As for driving around, keep your eyes open and look for older structures. Large clumps of trees in middle of farm fields usually mean there is something in there. You can begin your research for places to detect by doing internet searches. Expand from there by visiting your local library, ask about county and town history. Refer to web sites such as this for additional tips.