Greetings from a new prospector!

spyrakos7

Feb 16, 2015
Detector(s) used
None
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello people of Tnet!
I am brand new to prospecting and I'm really excited as I live near many (verified) gold bearing areas and I wanted to share my findings and collect information and experiences from people all over the world!

So, here we go. Firstly I live in Greece, which is known from Ancient times as being gold bearing, which is a nice start for a beginner like me.
Many areas near the place I live have tons of black sands, quartz, iron, pyrite sulfides etc. I know some definite locations to prospect for gold but right now my only limitations are financials as the areas that produces gold are up on the mountain. I panned some sands and I find many pyrite and magnetite but I can't separate pyrite from gold as I have no experience. I sub-merge a tin plate in water and the gold-looking stuff stays on the bottom along with the black sands. I shake the mixture many times and the gold stuff stays on the bottom. The problem is that when I pick it up and snap on my fingers it cracks just like a pyrite supposed to do. But Pyrite flakes are supposed to float or at least escape along with other materials, am i correct?

I read lots of stuff about panning, so even for an amateur I know 1 or 2 stuff but I lack the optical recognition experience. BTW when I grab a relatively big flake and rub it against a porcelain it leaves a golden stroke but cracks.

Some info and experiences are very welcomed! Thank you in advance!

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
metal_detector.gif
Welcome Aboard!

DirtWarrior

Bronze Member
Jul 15, 2014
Virginia
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold
Garrett AT Pro
Vulcan 360 Pin Pointer
Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Wel-come to the forum ... :icon_thumleft:

OP
OP
S

spyrakos7

Feb 16, 2015
Detector(s) used
None
Primary Interest: