Hello from Roatan Island

RoatanBill

Greenie
Mar 9, 2016
Roatan Island
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
I have no detecting gear, no experience, and have never even seen a detector up close. I live on a tourist destination island. They come for the diving and beaches as I did before moving here.

Recently I got interested in detecting after stumbling across one YouTube video that inevitably led to weeks of watching more of them. I've done some research and am interested in getting a detector for the surf, preferably one good to dive with. Asking "What detector should I buy" isn't logical, so I won't do it. I am interested in facts concerning both PI and VLF technology machines. As an Electrical Engineer / Professional Software Developer, I lean towards the PI machine as my natural instinct would be to dig every target - turn disc off even if available.

I have no idea what the beaches are like here from the "trash" perspective. What I do know is that thousands of tourists hit the beaches almost every week. I want to find gold; I have enough nickles, dimes and quarters.

Lurking on various forums and reading threads, some ancient, I get the impression that the stock recommendation is to get an Xcal using its reputation as a good machine and its ability to discriminate as the primary non empirical reasons. I would prefer testable evidence for a machines ability to find gold rings or at least side by side comparisons of machines in a given environment. Having focused on a Sand Shark rather quickly, I was disappointed when I saw the video: Skip to 10:00 to see the result.

So, now I'm on this site to get some answers, hopefully to intelligent questions.

Metal Detecting Stuff

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Mar 19, 2012
Spring TX
Detector(s) used
CTX3030/F75LTD/ Garrett AtPro/ XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting