Hello!!! I'm new to this and I found this hatchet and I've searched for a similiar one with the notch at the bottom of the blade with no luck.

Junior74

Oct 23, 2022
16665058361287656791187122498755.jpg

Upvote 9

Gare

Gold Member
Dec 30, 2012
Canton Ohio Area
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Presently using Deus 2's & have Minelabs, Nokta's Tesoro's DEus's Have them all . Have WAY to many need to get rid of some
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Junior let me welcome you to Treasurenet. Could that be some type of old shingling tool ?

ARC

Gold Member
Aug 19, 2014
Tarpon Springs
Detector(s) used
JW 8X-ML X2-VP 585
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Odd one... never seen one like this before... perhaps it broke off... slim chance the break being a perfect "square" ... but perhaps it was shaped to this after the break.

I see no use for it being purposely notched like that...
The only reason i could see for this to be purposely made this way is to act as some sort of "stop" or measure point related to depth... which IMO is totally possible /probable.

Last edited:

Gare

Gold Member
Dec 30, 2012
Canton Ohio Area
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Presently using Deus 2's & have Minelabs, Nokta's Tesoro's DEus's Have them all . Have WAY to many need to get rid of some
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Another thought is it could be used for splitting wood .

Red-Coat

Gold Member
Dec 23, 2019
Surrey, UK
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very odd. Hammer hatchets used for roofing work and other purposes typically have a notch on the beard for nail-lifting. Sometimes it can be close enough to the cutting edge of the bit that it creates an area prone to snapping off if mis-used. Like this:

Hammer Axe.jpg

PS: Welcome to Tnet.

Last edited:

Gare

Gold Member
Dec 30, 2012
Canton Ohio Area
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

hollARDog

Jun 18, 2022
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting