Help using an old detector? Wilson-Neuman, Inc.

Sevilon

Sep 23, 2015
Fort Collins, CO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello,
I have never used a metal detector before. I am a teacher in Colorado, and today a little girl in my classroom lost a charm from her necklace today- a charm that holds extremely important sentimental value to her. Our playground is covered in shredded wood chips. We searched for it, with no luck.

I remembered that my husband bought a metal detector at a yard sale many years ago- I don't think we ever used it. Well, this evening we found it in the basement, put a couple of new 9V batteries in it, and it seems to work fine. Well, it works except I have no idea how to actually use it.

I have the owner's manual, but I still don't really understand what I need to do. I got it kind of working- I put a quarter under the wood chips and kept playing with settings until I got it to "locate" the quarter, but I think I am doing something backwards- the detector was making a constant sound, and the sound would stop as I went over any metal. Isn't it supposed to be the opposite of that?

It is a Wilson-Neuman Inc. New Daytona II (2)

Anyone able to help me figure this thing out? Thanks for any help!

OP
OP
S

Sevilon

Sep 23, 2015
Fort Collins, CO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What I am not understanding is:

-Which setting should I be using? (All Metals Normal? All Metals Ground Cancel? etc.)

-How do I set the depth? I'm guessing it's the black switches on the back side, but there are 2 of them - if it says "set depth to 5", how do I do that using two switches that go to a total of 5?

-The "10 turn tuner" turns endlessly each direction- how do I know how many turns it has gone?

Attachments

• DSC03415.jpg
    DSC03415.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 222
  • DSC03416.jpg
    DSC03416.jpg
    50.1 KB · Views: 219
  • DSC03417.jpg
    DSC03417.jpg
    39.8 KB · Views: 169
  • DSC03418.jpg
    DSC03418.jpg
    41.5 KB · Views: 184