Help with identification please?

Jess122604

Dec 3, 2022
Rexas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I found this as part of a collection, unfortunately at an antique store so I have no idea where they were first found. The owner said they were bought in the Oklahoma City area at an estate sale. I have no real knowledge as to whether this is real or a reproduction, but I have been reading and trying to learn. Maybe it's a cultivation tool, like a hoe? Would value opinions.
PXL_20221203_202441581.jpg
PXL_20221203_202513995.jpg
PXL_20221203_202523383.jpg
PXL_20221203_202532179.jpg
PXL_20221203_202548644.jpg
PXL_20221203_202606149.jpg

Attachments

• PXL_20221203_202441581.jpg
    PXL_20221203_202441581.jpg
    999.1 KB · Views: 21
Upvote 6

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Looks like a flint hoe to me as well.

OP
OP
J

Jess122604

Dec 3, 2022
Rexas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks everyone for the info, especially Dognose. I just read a lot of information about Mill Creek chert. Here's what I've gathered so far, and please correct me if I'm wrong! Looks like this tool was mined by the Mississippian culture in southern Illinois and distributed for tool production from there. Probably 800-1600 years ago. Possibly used for maise or bean farming. Now I'm wondering if it got lost or was part of a burial. I'm thinking that these tools were fairly valuable to the people that used them and they probably weren't careless with them. And I'm also thinking that I need to go back to that antique shop and see if they still have the rest of the collection!

joshuaream

Silver Member
Jun 25, 2009
Florida & Hong Kong
yea very nice, looks like the bit has use polish.